How to Handle Your Own Calif. Accident Case-Tip # 1
This is Tip #1 on how to handle your own accident injury case from Orange County accident & injury lawyer John P. Burns. The first question is who are you going to call? Here is what you need to do.
- Submit an SR-1 accident report form to the California Department of Motor Vehicles.
- Call the insurance company of the person who caused the accident.
- Call your own insurance company and report the accident.
California SR-1 Accident Report Form
Under California law, if the damage to your vehicle was over $750.00, if there was personal injury to anyone in the accident or if anyone was killed you are required to submit a California Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) SR-1 report. In the report you are required to report the names, addresses and driver’s license numbers of all the people involved in the accident. You will also be required to list the information about your own vehicle insurance to prove that you had vehicle liability insurance of at least $15,000.00 per person at the time of the accident.
Call the insurance company of the person who caused the accident.
You need to call the insurance company of the person who caused the accident and open a claim. The person who opens the claim for you is called an insurance adjuster. The adjuster will take down all the details of the accident. The adjuster will then tell you the claim number that has been assigned to the accident. The adjuster will then usually advise you that you will be called back by a vehicle damage adjuster. If you were injured, the adjuster will also usually advise you that you will be called back by an injury adjuster.
Call your own insurance company
If you were not at fault for the accident it is also a good idea to notify your own insurance company of the accident. Since you were not at fault for the accident your insurance company should not raise your rates or cancel your insurance. In addition, your insurance policy may carry rental car or medical payments benefits and you want to be able to access those benefits.
More Information Available
You can obtain more information on how to handle your own accident case for free. Mr. Burns has written a FREE BOOK entitled 9 Mistakes That Can Ruin Your California Vehicle Accident Case. Mr.Burns’ website johnburnslawoc.com will allow you to download the E book. If you prefer, a hard copy of the book will be mailed to you from the website. In either case, the book and information are available to you at no charge.
In addition, more Tips for handling your own accident case will be published in the future. Please watch for continuing helpful hints to help you as you handle your own accident injury case.
Disclaimer: The author takes no responsibility for mistakes made by persons handling their own cases. The information in this article is general in nature and readers should discuss their case with a qualified attorney before making any important decisions in handling their own cases. Many attorneys will give you a free fifteen to thirty minute phone consultation and you should call an attorney and discuss what you plan to do before making any in important decisions on your case.